Literary Links

Fantastic Fiction

New York Times Best Sellers

The Globe and Mail Best Sellers

Publisher's Weekly

The Dewey Divas and Dudes Blog

Award Winners and Nominees

Pulitzer Prize

Established in 1917, the Pulitzer is a series of prizes that are awarded each year. Some of the categories are American online journalism, literature, newspaper, drama, poetry, photography and musical composition by Columbia University. Fellowships are awarded as well.

Nobel Prize in Literature

Alfred Nobel had broad cultural interests. During his early youth, he developed his literary interests which lasted throughout his life. His library consisted of a rich and broad selection of literature in different languages. During the last years of his life, he tried his hand as an author and began writing fiction. Literature was the fourth prize area Nobel mentioned in his will.

The Nobel Prize in Literature is awarded by The Swedish Academy, Stockholm, Sweden.

CBC Literary Awards
The CBC Literary Prizes recognize talented Anglophone writers in three categories: Short Story, Nonfiction and Poetry. The competition is open to amateur and professional Canadian writers.

Governor General's Literary Awards

Initiated in 1937 by the Canadian Authors’ Association with the agreement of Governor General Lord Tweedsmuir (novelist John Buchan), these awards are now administered by the Canada Council for the Arts. which recognize Canada’s best English and French books in 7 categories: Fiction, Non-fiction, Poetry, Drama, Young People’s Literature – Text, Young People’s Literature – Illustrated Books and Translation (from French to English and vice-versa). The awards promote Canadian literature and encourage Canadians to read.

Griffin Poetry Prize
The Griffin includes two annual literary prizes -  one to a living Canadian poet, and the other to a living poet from any country (which may include Canada).

Scotiabank Giller Prize

This prize is awarded annually to the author of a Canadian novel or short story collection published in English. The prize is named in honour of the late literary journalist Doris Giller and was founded in 1994 by her husband, Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch.

Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing
Established in honour of the late MP, this prize is administered by The Writers’ Trust of Canada. It is awarded for a work of non-fiction  “of outstanding literary merit that enlarges our understanding of contemporary Canadian political and social issues”.